Fresh Start

So, blogging calls again! After a hiatus due to being insanely busy, and honestly not having much interest in this blog, I’ve decided to start again. There are a few reasons to start again I suppose. One is that I’m simply rather dispirited by the state of blogging at the moment. You either seem to read endlessly limp think pieces, or stare at endless lists of 12″s for download. I’m not going to restrict myself here to one format of posting, but what I will do is try to keep everything as concise as possible.

The final push came this morning, when I discovered that Paul had tagged me for some sort of blogging chain letter thing – I felt honoured, as Paul really does stand up there with some of the best bloggers from the old days, and is responsible for providing me with a great amount of education about the areas between dubstep and techno.

So here’s that aforementioned chain letter –

‘List seven songs you are into right now. No matter what the genre, whether they have words, or even if they’re not any good, but they must be songs you’re really enjoying now, shaping your spring. Post these instructions in your blog along with your 7 songs. Then tag 7 other people to see what they’re listening to’.

1. Martyn – Vancouver

This sounds like a dubstep version of something you’d find on Oslo Records, what with its deeply druggy vocal snippets, keys and shimmering percussion. Hear it on his myspace. Natural Selection is also excellent, and in a similar vein.

2. Bessie Jones – Sheep, Sheep, Don’t You Know the Road

I love the whole collection that this song is on: it’s a collection of Gospel songs from the South Georgia Sea Islands, about which I can find very little on the internet. Barely contained Caribbean rhythms brush up against classic Gosepl harmonies in a joyous exhortation of God.

3. Adam Marshall – Kokane

This was released around the end of last year, but I still love its Berghain heaviness, albeit done in a totally originally way. The descending bass chords are post-industrial punishment, but the Chicago indebted rhythm keeps things funky. I like the epic descending synths a bit less than the first half perhaps, but overall a very good track indeed. Hear it on the New Kanada myspace. It’s listed under Night Sailing, the name of the EP.

4. Arvo Part – Spiegel Im Spiegel

This moved me to tears the other night. Part has always been one of my favourite composers but this is just sublime – the simple repeating piano and the pianissimo violin rubbing against each other. You keep waiting for the bass chord on the piano, and Part keeps dropping it in completely unexpected places. Does me in every time.

5. Untold – Yukon

Untold is one of the weirdest dubstep producers out there. Texturally, dubstep could perhaps be accused of playing it a little bit safe in 2008, but not Untold. Boiling sounds are laced with old school snippets and attached to a ridiculous 2 step beat on Yukon. Hear it at his myspace.

6. Johnny D – If You Could Read My Mind

This is post-minimal in action. Released on this Deep Vibes EP, the whole thing is a joyous mass of insanely intricate percussion, mewing synths and obscured vocals. This man really has staked a big claim on producer of 2008 already, just because everything he does is so damn original. This is house,but you won’t hear much of anything here that could of been done in ’88. Minimal in mindset only, this posseses enough melody and thump to keep almost any dance-floor happy.

6. The Dirty Projectors Live Show

So not a song exactly, but this live show has made a huge impression on me. It is startling to see such virtuosity so up close and personal. This isn’t just needless noodling however, there’s a twisted sense of melody and a huge amount of originality there to back it up. Highly, highly recommended.

7. Tobias Freund’s RA Podcast

Again, not a song, but I was listening to this podcast the other day and enjoying it immensely. It also made me pine for a time when things were a little less delineated within electronic music, but I won’t get bogged down in endless envy for the past as so many others seem to be doing at the minute.

So there we have it! This is who I’ll tag for the next round:

Kinosport.
Ronan Fitzgerald.
Philip Sherburne.
Tape.
Chris Dennis.
The Rambler.
Dial “M” for Musicology.

Expect more content soon.

3 Responses to “Fresh Start”

  1. lots of stuff for me to discover here! nice post. sorry i was late to respond, i’ve been in vancouver. coincidentally, did you mean to have a bit of a western canada theme running through your post? vancouver, yukon… kokane (that one is maybe a stretch but it’s New Kanada and there’s a beer and glacier in bc called kokanee).

  2. ha no i didn’t! the lust for the west coast must be affecting me more strongly than I thought… all my family are off there in a week and I’m not going. Glad you enjoyed the post.

  3. i quite seem to enjoy my night life enjoying and attending parties, .

Leave a Reply

